Stohrer Bakery

Stohrer Baker – Paris

Move over Mireille and Gosselin, there’s a new bakery in town. And this one’s over 280 years old.

Stohrer Bakery is located in the most charming pedestrian quarter in the 2nd arrondissement.

The bakery prides itself on the fact that it was once visited by the Queen of England and that it was founded by Mr. Nicolas Stohrer, personal chef to King Louis XV. Yeah, I guess that’s impressive, but seriously, these guys had me at the word “bakery.”

I decided to start with something simple: a baguette with ham and cheese.

Oh Em Gee.

The bread was hearty and flavorful, with a tender crust on the outside. And the ham was super savory– perfectly complemented by a sharp cheese and the most delectable butter.

For just a basic sandwich, this thing was a show stopper.

I wanted to follow it immediately with the chocolate eclair I had also purchased, but I just couldn’t… I needed some alone time with my taste buds to make sense of all that deliciousness.

After about twenty minutes, I finally bit into the eclair….

Do you remember the Seinfeld episode where Jerry and Elaine discuss being “stunned by soup?”

Well, let’s just say I was immobilized by an eclair. I think I may have even let out a little whimper! Now, it wasn’t the best bit of chocolate I’ve had in Paris, but for whatever reason, Strohrer’s chocolate eclair moved me.

What can I say? It’s a damned good bakery. If I could give it a 5 plus, plus, plus, I would, but for now…

Out of 5, Stohrer Bakery gets 5 Afro Puffs:

Stohrer
51 Rue Montorgueil
75002 Paris
2nd Arrondissement
01 42 33 38 20
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stohrer Bakery

  1. Pingback: E – Eclairs | Kimberly Blagrove – The Nappy Wanderer

Leave a Reply

